The first Akita Club of America's National Specialty show was in 1976 in Southern California with the San Fernando Valley Kennel Club's AKC licensed All-Breed show.

Akitas in all their glory are showcased at the Nationals competing in Conformation, Sweepstakes, Obedience, Rally, and Futurity/Maturity. The Top 20 dogs in conformation, go head-to-head to determine their Top 20 winner and most recently added the People's Choice Award.

Entries come from all over the United States as well as several foreign countries. The show is held in conjunction with the Akita Club of America Annual Meeting and includes educational programs, special events and festive activities, which take place throughout the week.

Along with our Annual National Specialty we have several Akita Clubs through out the United States that hold Regional Akita Specialties. Be sure to visit the Regional Specialty page for more information regarding these upcoming Regional Specialties.

The Akita Club of America encourages everyone to attend at least one National Specialty and/or a Regional Specialty where you will gain a wealth of information from it's club members, exhibitors, meet breeders, and most importantly see a great deal of beautiful Akitas... what more could you ask for!


2016 2015

2016 Winners


There are currently no upcoming events...

President Keith Venezia
Show Chair Laurie White
Assistant Show Chair vacant  
Treasurer Matthew Dimon
Obedience Chair Laurie White
Obedience/Rally/Performance Events Barbara Sikkink
AKC Interface/Corresponding Secretary Sandi Soto
Website Liaison Anita Palmer
Regional Specialty vacant  
Auction Sherry Lockrem
Breeders Education Francee Hamblet
Catalogs and Advertising Kathy Amrine
Challenge Trophies TBA  
Chief Ring Steward John Newland
Crufts Certificates Sherry Wallis
Emergency Coordinator Laurie White
Flyer Anita Palmer
Futurity / Maturity Diane Merits
Grounds vacant  
Judges Education Sylvia Thomas
Judges Hospitality vacant  
Judges' Welcome Bags vacant  
Reserved Grooming Mary Mignogna
Reserved Seating vacant  
ROM Chair Elea Warf
RV Parking Francee Hamblet
Site Coordinator Terri Breen
Site Coordinator-Assistant Frank Ingemi
Top 20 Top Twenty Committee
Trophies Linda Ingemi
Trophy Sponsorships Linda Ingemi
Vendors Terrie Breen
Ways & Means Teresa Brown
Welcome Party vacant